Maithili NLP Workshop Report

Department of Maithili, T. M. Bhagalpur University, Bhagalpur November 11–15, 2013

Linguistic Data Consortium for Indian Languages (LDC-IL), Central Institute of Indian Languages (CIIL), Mysore in collaboration with Department of Maithili, T. M. Bhagalpur University, Bhagalpur organized a Training Programme on Natural Language Processing from November 11–15, 2013 at T. M. Bhagalpur University, Bhagalpur. The programme started with the Inaugural Function on 2013 at 10:00 am in the Dinkar Bhawan at the T. M. Bhagalpur University, Bhagalpur. Prof. Niranjan Kumar Singha, Pro Vice Chancelar, Dr. Grudev Poddar, DSW, Dr. Mina Yadav, Din of Humanities, Retired Prof. Premshanker Singh, Prof. Keshker Thakur Head of the Department of Maithili, T. M. Bhagalpur University, Bhagalpur was the Chief Guest and the function was presided over by Prof. Niranjan Kumar Singha, Pro Vice Chancellor, T. M. Bhagalpur University, Bhagalpur. Dr. Grudev Poddar, DSW, Dr. Mina Yadav, Din of Humanities, uttered the activities and the significance of NLP in the emerging areas of Applied Linguistics. Ms. Atreyee Sharma, Senior Lecturer/JRO, & Dr. Arun Kumar Singh JRP Maithili LDC-IL, Mysore, spoke about the theme of the entire programme by briefly elaborating the major issues in NLP. He also outlined the NLP activities at the LDC-IL, Mysore. Prof. Keshker Thakur extended vote of thanks. Prof. Premshanker Singh, Prof. Keshker Thakur, Dr. Pramod Kumar Panday, Dr. Saroj Roy, T. M. Bhagalpur University, Bhagalpur. Dr. Aruna Choudhry, Patna University, Dr. Ravindra Kumar Choudhry LBSM Collage Jamshedpur attended there.

There were only forty registered participants but several other students, scholars and teachers (approx. 25-30) from T. M. Bhagalpur University, Bhagalpur attended and benefited from the lectures/demonstration of the programme. Most of the lectures, systematic demonstrations, and hands-on practices were held in the seminar hall.

The Inaugural Function was followed by a series of expert lectures by Mr. A. Nandaraj Meetei, Lecturer/RP, LDC-IL, gave a series of talks on various aspects of Artificial Intelligence and Natural Language Processing focusing on Computational Grammar for Indian languages.

On the second day Ms. Atreyee Sharma, Senior Lecturer/JRO, LDC-IL, gave lectures on An Introduction to Text & Sign Corpus, Concept, Balancing & Classification, and providing the participants with the ideal tasks of LDC-IL team. As a second lecture, Mr. A. Nandaraj Meetei talked on Semantics (Theories of Meaning & Componential Analysis). As an outcome of LDC-IL activities, Dr. Saroj Roy gave a Special Lecture on Semantics.

Third day was started with Ms. Poonam & Dr. Arun Kumar Singh lecture on POS tagging introduced and discussed about the POS issues and practice and Dr. Ravindra Kumar Choudhary gave lecture on syntax & Prof. Premshanker Singh gave lecture on Phonology of Maithili Language.

Ms. Sarbjeet Kaur, Sr. Research Assistance, LDC-IL, gave a lecture on Speech Corpus, Speech Data Collection and Dr. Satyaendra Awasthi, Jr. Research Assistance, LDC-IL delivered lecture on Transliteration in ILs & tool demo of Indian Language. Dr. Pramod Kumar Panday, Head of the Department, Maithili T. N. B. Collage, Bhagalpur, gave a lecture on Morphology & Prof. Keshker Thakur.

On the last day, Dr. Arun Kumar Singh, delivered lecture on morphological analyzer with a lot of hands-on practice on the tools and finally, Mr. Dinesh Misra, JRP, LDC-IL, gave lecture on Corpus Cleaning & Dr. Aruna Choudhry, Patna University delivered lecture on Problem of Writing System in Maithili.

Prof. Keshker Thakur expressed her observation over the lectures, demonstration, and practices of the different events during the course of the programme. Dr. Arun Kumar Singh briefly outlined the ongoing projects of the LDC-IL. Ms. Sarbjeet Kaur shared his profound experience with LDC-IL. Mr. Dinesh Mishra also shared his experience with LDC-IL. The Valedictory Function was concluded with the feedbacks from the participants and faculty members, Certificate distribution as well as the vote of thanks by Dr. Arun Kumar Singh in a successful manner.